• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Canary Islands

Article Index
Canary Islands
Species and Endemism
Protected Areas
Endangered species
Region Representation
All Pages

Canary Islands (Spanish Outermost Region): Parter #5

General Information

Number of Islands:
7 main islands (Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, Fuerteventura, Tenerife, La Gomera, El Hierro and La Palma) and six other small islets (Alegranza, Graciosa, Montaña Clara, Roque del este, Roque del Oeste y Lobos)
Number of Provinces: 2 provinces, named Las Palmas (composed of the islands of Gran Canaria, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura) and Tenerife (islands of Tenerife, La Gomera, El Hierro and La Palma)
Capital cities: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (for Las Palmas province), and Santa Cruz de Tenerife (for the province of Tenerife). They alternate the capital status every 4 years.
Area: 7,446,59 km2 , being Tenerife Island the biggest with 2,034,36 km2 (342 km2 are coastal), and having the highest altitude of Spain in the Teide volcano with a summit of 3,718 m. Also the most populated with 852,945 inhabitants (data as 1st January 2008). Next in area is Fuerteventura with 1.659,79 km2, Gran Canaria (1.560,11 km2 ), Lanzarote (845,53 km2 ), La Palma (708,33 km2 ), La Gomera (369,75 km2 ) and El Hierro (268,72 km2 ).
Population: 1.781.366 inhabitants (the most populated European overseas entity)
Population Density: 279 inhabitants/ km2
GDP/ per capita: 19,040 € (data from Eurostat, 2005)
Climate: mainly subtropical, but with many microclimate areas
Economic Activities: Tourism (about 10 millions visitors/ year), some minor agriculture and aquaculture
Official language: Spanish
Status: Spanish Autonomous Region, EU Outermost Region (OR)